Virat Kohli rest, Rohit Sharma to lead India against Sri Lanka

BCCI have named 16-man squad for the forthcoming one-day series against Sri Lanka. Hosts India is currently playing Test series against Islanders. Indian captain Virat Kohli will be not be available as he has been rested ahead of tour to South Africa. Kohli’s deputy Rohit Sharma will lead the side in the one-day series against Sri Lanka.

The selection committee has also announced the squad for third and final Test against Sri Lanka that will be played at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi. India’s premier all-rounder Hardik Pandya is set to return to the side for the one-day series after being rested for the three-match Test series. India’s opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan is all set to return to the Indian side after missing the second Test at Nagpur due to personal reasons. Murali Vijay, who replaced Dhawan in the lineup performed well and scored a century. It is interesting selection problem for India as Vijay and Dhawan have done exceedingly well for the side in the format.

India is set to tour South Africa in January 2018 so selection committee have taken measures to make sure all players are fit and raring to go for their first overseas since July 2016. India currently lead the three-match series by 1-0 after beating Sri Lanka by a huge margin. India’s premier spinner also achieved an important milestone by taking his 300 wickets in Test cricket in 54 games only.

India squad for Final Test: Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Mohammad Shami, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Ravi Ashwin, Ravendra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Vijay Shankar.

India’s ODI Squad : Rohit Sharma (c), Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Aksar Patel,  MS Dhoni (wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jaspreet Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, Kedhar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Siddharth Kaul.