Virat Kohli becomes the second batsman to score 5000 runs in Indian Premier League

Virat Kohli added another milestone to his name by completing 5,000 runs in the Indian Premier League. He became the second batsman after Suresh Raina to achieve the milestone.

Royal Challenger Bangalore Captain achieved the milestone during their game against Mumbai Indians at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on Thursday.

Before the game, Virat Kohli needed another 46 runs to complete the milestone. He scored 46 runs against Mumbai Indians and completed the feat by taking a single off the bowling of Jaspreet Bumrah. Kohli has played for Royal Challenger Bangalore in the Indian Premier League since its inception in 2008.

Currently, he has scored 5000 runs in 165 games with four centuries to his name. He has also struck 34 half-centuries. In 2016, Virat Kohli broke all batting records and finished as leading run-scorer in the competition with 973 runs in 16 matches.

Virat Kohli became the quickest to reach 5000 runs in the Indian Premier League. It took him 157 innings to complete the milestone. In the opening game of the league, Raina became the first batsman to compete 5000 runs in history of the Indian Premier League.

Before the start of 2019 Indian Premier League, Kohli needed another 52 runs to complete the milestone. It was certainly a great achievement for Kohli, who has been consistent performer for franchise since the beginning of the Indian Premier league.

Suresh Raina currently is the leading run-scorer in the Indian Premier League with 5034 runs in 178 matches. He has certainly been a bankable performer for Chennai Super Kings over the past couple of years. Kohli is second on list for all-time leading run scorers in the Indian Premier League.

Mumbai Indians Captain Rohit Sharma is third on the list with 4,555 runs in 175 matches. He has certainly been a star performer for Mumbai over the years. Robin Uthappa and Gautam Gambhir also are in the illustrious list of batsmen, who scored more than 4000 runs in the history of Indian Premier League.