Virat Kohli becomes second Indian batsman to complete 8000 runs in T20 cricket

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Captain Virat Kohli became the second Indian batsman to score 8000 runs in the T20 format after Suresh Raina. Kohli managed to complete the milestone during the 17th game of Indian Premier League played against Kolkata Knight Riders at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Before the start of the game, Kohli needed 17 runs to complete 8000 runs in the T20 format. Middle-order batsman was the first Indian batsman to complete 8000 runs during the game played in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018-19 while representing Uttar Pradesh. He currently has scored 8110 runs in 306 matches at an average of 33.10

Second on the list is Virat Kohli  he completed the milestone in his 257th game.

Most runs scored by an Indian player in the T20 format.

Player Runs Matches Average
Suresh Raina 8110* 306 33.10
Virat Kohli 8001* 257 —–
Rohit Sharma 7902 303 32.25
Shikhar Dhawan 6548 231 32.09
Gautam Gambhir 6402 251 28.96

Off Kohli’s 8000 runs, almost 5000 runs have come for Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League. He has playing for the franchise since league’s inception in 2008.  While playing at home, he has scored 2263 runs in 67 matches at an average of 50.28. In the T20 format, Kohli has struck 56 half-centuries out of which 36 have come for RCB. He has smashed 20 half-centuries for India in the T20 format.

Chris Gayle, who is currently playing for Kings XI Punjab, is the all-time leading run-scorer in the format with 12457 runs in 374 matches at an average of 39.05. He is only batsman to score 10,000 runs in the T20 cricket. Second on the list is New Zealand’s Brendon McCullum, who has scored 9922 runs in 370 matches.

West Indian all-rounder Kieron Pollard is third on the list with 9087 runs in 463 games. He certainly has looked in good form with the bat in this year’s Indian Premier League.

Most runs in T20s

Player Runs Matches Average
Chris Gayle 12457 374 39.05
Brendon McCullum 9922 370 29.97
Kieron Pollard 9087 463 29.79
Shoaib Malik 8701 345 36.71
David Warner 8365 262 36.05
Suresh Raina  8110  306  33.10
Viart Kohli   8001*  257  ——
Rohit Sharma 7902 303 32.25
Shane Watson 7846 303 29.94
Aaron Finch 7835 253 35.45