Uncapped Kyle Jamieson included in the limited-overs squad for India series

Due to injuries to premier pace bowlers like Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry and Trent Boult, New Zealand have included uncapped Kyle Jamieson in the limited-overs squad for three-match series against India. Matt Henry has been ruled out of the series due to a broken thumb, while Trent Boult will miss the one-day series due to a broken hand.

Lockie Ferguson has not played a single game for New Zealand in the past six month due to calf strain. However, Trent Boult will be fit in time for the two-match Test series that will be played after the one-day series.

Hamish Bennett, Tim Southee and Scott Kuggeleijn are three frontline pace options included in the limited-overs squad for series against India. Scott Kuggeleijn have played only two one-day games for New Zealand. The pacer played his last one-day game for New Zealand in 2017. Leg-spinner Ish Sodhi will be available for the opening game that will be played at Seddon Park in Hamilton. He will be released to play for New Zealand A in the four-day game to be played at Christchurch.

In the batting department, Henry Nicholls will be promoted to open the innings with Martin Guptill for the one-day series. Tom Latham will make his return to the squad after fully recovering from finger injury. James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme and Mitchell Santner are three genuine all-rounders for the three-match one-day series. This is New Zealand’s first limited-overs assignment since the 2019 World Cup played last year.

Head Coach Gary Stead said that it will be great opportunity for the new players to step up to the plate and deliver the goods against India.

Squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Latham (wk), Hamish Bennett, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Tom Blundell, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi (only 1st one-day game).