Uncapped Glenton Stuurman named in South Africa preliminary squad for England series

South Africa have announced their squad for the upcoming series against England. Uncapped medium-pacer Glenton Stuurman has earned maiden call-up to the South African squad for the home series. Stuurman is currently completing 14-day quarantine and will join the squad at Newlands ahead of the upcoming T20I series against England.

The 28-year old has played first-class cricket for almost seven years and has done well for his franchise for the past couple of years.  He certainly has the ability to move the ball both ways in white-ball cricket.

Kagiso Rabada has made a comeback to the squad after missing the national previous limited-overs assignment against Australia. He suffered a groin injury against India in March.

Dale Steyn is unavailable for selection due to his commitments with Lankan Premier League. All-rounder Chris Morris, who had a decent outing with the ball for Royal Challengers Bangalore in this year’s Indian Premier League, is another notable absentee from the overall squad.

Faf du Plessis, Anrich Nortje, Quinton de Kock performed exceedingly well for their respective franchise in the recently concluded Indian Premier League. Faf du Plessis finished the competition as leading run-scorer for Chennai Super Kings, while Anrich Nortje claimed 20 wickets for Delhi Capitals in his debut IPL season.

The selectors have picked four spinners in Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Bjorn Fortuin and Keshav Maharaj.

New convener selectors Victor Mpitsang, announced the squad on 21st October as wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock expected to lead South Africa in the T20I and ODI series against England.

South Africa men’s squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Faf du Plessis, Janneman Malan, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Reeza Hendricks, Beuran Hendricks, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lutho Sipamla, Jon-Jon Smuts, George Linde, Pite van Biljon, Kyle Verreynne, Glenton Stuurman, Lungi Ngidi, Bjorn Fortuin, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Junior Dala.