Sri Lanka announce 16-man squad for the upcoming tour of Pakistan

Sri Lanka name their 16-man squad for the upcoming tour of Pakistan. Dimuth Karunaratne-led unit will play two-match Test series against Pakistan in the month of December. Rawalpindi will host the opening game of the series while Karachi will stage the second and final game on 19th December.

This will be first time a national cricket team will be playing a full-fledge Test series in Pakistan since 2009. The historic series is certainly a huge step in the right direction for Pakistan cricket which has not played any cricket at home since last 10 years.

There is only one change in the squad as pacer Kasun Rajitha has been included in place of Akila Dhananjaya, who was banned for illegal bowling action by International Cricket Council (ICC).

Pacer Kasun Rajitha has claimed 23 wickets in 6 matches at an average of 29.56. He also bowled exceptionally well for Sri Lanka and was instrumental in helping the side clinch their maiden series win in South Africa earlier this year. Lahiru Kumara, Asitha Fernando, Suranga Lakmal and Vishwa Fernando are the pace options included in the squad for the two-match series.

Sri Lanka was the last team to play a Test series in 2009. The Islanders tour was cancelled after a terrorist attack on Sri Lanka cricket team bus. The opening game of the two-match Test series will be played at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium from 11th December. The second and final game of the series will be played at National Cricket Stadium in Karachi from 19th December. Two-match series will also be included in the ICC World Test Championship.

Test Squad for the two-match series: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Janith Perera, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Lahiru Thiramanne, Dhananjaya De Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Lasith Embuldeniya, Suranga Lakmal and Lakshan Sandakan.