Sri Lanka announce 15-man squad for one day series against India

Sri Lanka has suffered a humiliating whitewash in the three match Test series against India at home. The hosts will be keen to turn the tables on the visitors as they announced their 15-member squad for five one day internationals and one-off T-20 international. Upul Tharanga will lead the side. Dinesh Chandimal has been included in the setup for the limited overs competition. Vishwa Fernando, Akila Dhananjaya and Milinda Siriwardena have been included as new faces in the lineup. Lasith Malinga is in the squad as Sri Lanka selectors opted for experience in the pace department.

Sri Lanka cricket team is going through tough phase as young team is in transition. The Islanders have been a competitive cricketing nation for the last two decades producing great players like Muttiah Muralitharan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene and Lasith Malinga. Sri Lankan Cricket Board (SLC) insisted that fans must support the team in such difficult situation as it will help to come out of this situation.

The 15-member squad announced by Sri Lankan Cricket Board (SLC) for the series is as given below:

Sri Lankan ODI and T20 squads for series against India: Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga (c), Waninda Hasaranga, Chamara Kapugedera, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Milinda Siriwardana, Malinda Pushpakumara, Akila Dhananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Thisara Perera.