Sophia Dunkley, Katie George named in England T20 squad for West Indies series

Uncapped player Sophia Dunkley has earned her maiden call-up to England squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against West Indies. The 16th-member squad features most of the core players that played in the T20 World Cup semifinal against Australia played earlier this season.

Georgia Elwiss has been ruled out of the five-match T20I series due to a back injury. Leg-spinner Sophia Dunkley made his last appearance for England in March Last season in Sri Lanka.

Left-arm medium-pacer Katie George has only played five T20I matches for England. All-rounder Bryony Smith and Left-arm spinner Linsey Smith have been included in the reserves for the upcoming five-match T20I series.

Players like Emma Lamb, Kirstie Gordon, Lauren Bell, Bryony Smith, Linsey Smith, Alice Davidson-Richards and Issy Wong, who were named in the preliminary squad in Derby have failed to find a place in the final T20 squad for series against West Indies.

All the back-up players have been released and will play for their respective county sides in the final leg of Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Trophy.

England Head Coach, Lisa Keightley said that it has been challenging time for women cricketers due to Covid-19 Pandemic. She said that the players have worked to make sure that they are adequately prepared for the five-match T20I series against West Indies. Keightley will be hoping that the side can get off to a positive start in this upcoming five-match T20I series.

Captain Heather Knight was the standout performer with the bat in the ICC T20 World Cup played in Australia earlier this year. The opening game of the T20I series will be played on 21st September. All the five matches will be played at County Ground in Derby.

T20I Squad for West Indies series : Heather Knight (captain), Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Katie George, Tammy Beaumont, Danni  Wyatt, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver, Lauren Winfield, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, , Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers, Fran Wilson.