Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell named in West Indies preliminary squad for mega T20I summer

West Indies have announced a full-strength 18-member preliminary squad for the upcoming T20I series against South Africa and Australia. Cricket West Indies have included experienced all-rounder Andre Russell and Shimron Hetymer in the provisional squad for mega summer of T20I cricket in the Caribbean.

Last year, Andre Russell made his appearance for West Indies whereas Shimron Hetymer recent appearance for Men in Maroon came in New Zealand in a T20I series Due to fitness issues, Hetymer was dropped from the side for the T20I and Test series against Sri Lanka played in the Caribbean.

Left-arm quick Sheldon Cottrell, leg-spinner Hayden Walsh Jr. and pacer Oshane Thomas made their return to the preliminary T20 squad. The experienced trio of Dwayne Bravo, Fidel Edwards and Chris Gayle retain their place in the setup while Kieron Pollard will continue to lead the side

Cricket West Indies Chief Selector, Roger Harper said that the squad has been selected for the T20I series against top sides like South Africa, Australia and Pakistan. West Indies will 15 T20I matches against Australia, South Africa and Pakistan this summer.

West Indies Head Coach, Phil Simmons said the upcoming series against likes of South Africa, Australia and Pakistan will help the national side make adequate preparations for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup. The squad picked for T20I summer has a nice blend of experienced world-class players coupled with exciting young players.

It is to be noted that West Indies are currently defending champions for T20 format. Having won five years ago, West Indies will be looking to bring their A-game to table in this home summer in order to successfully defend their title this year.

Provisional squad for series against South Africa, Australia and Pakistan : Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain), Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetymer, Evin Lewis, Andre Russell, Andre Fletcher, Jason Holder, Lendl Simmons, Fidel Edwards, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Akeal Hosein, Obed McCoy and Kevin Sinclair.