Shakib Al Hasan, Andre Russell and Martin Guptill sign up for remainder of PSL 2021

Hard-hitting all-rounder Andre Russell, Shakib Al Hasan and Martin Guptill are three high-profile names to have signed by franchises for the remainder of 2021 Pakistan Super League.

All the six franchises have managed to pick replacements via online auction held by Pakistan Cricket Board for the remainder of PSL. The competition is scheduled to start from 1st June. There have been talks that PCB might shift the remainder of the competition to the United Arab Emirates due to rising covid-19 cases in Pakistan during the second wave.

One of most accomplished players in the T20 format, Andre Russell is set to replace England’s Tom Banton and will represent Quetta Gladiators in remainder of PSL. For Lahore Qalandars, Rashid Khan was replaced by Shakib Al Hasan, who will be keen to make an impact for the side in PSL.

In order to cover the loss of Colin Ingram, Defending Champions Karachi Kings have named New Zealand opener Martin Guptill as a replacement player for the remainder of PSL.

Australian players like Usman Khuwaja, James Faulkner, Callum Ferguson and Joe Burns will feature as replacements for their respective franchises in the remainder of the competition. Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators have gone for one reserve player each and set to submit name replacements later.

Earlier this year, the competition was indefinitely postponed in the month of March after rising cases among players. The remaining games of the competition is scheduled to start from 1st June at National Cricket Stadium in Karachi.

PSL 2021 overseas replacements for remainder of the competition are given below:

Islamabad United: Usman Khuwaja and Janneman Malan replaces Alex Hales and Lewis Gregory.

Karachi Kings: Thisara Perera replaces Mohammad Nabi, Martin Guptill replaces Colin Ingram, Liton Das replaces Joe Clarke and Najeebullah Zadran replaces Dan Christian.

Lahore Qalandars: Shakib-Al-Hasan replaces Rashid Khan, Joe Burns replaces Samit Patel, Callum Ferguson replaces Tom Abell, James Faulkner replaces David Wiese, and Seekuge Prasanna replaces Joe Denly

Multan Sultans: Rahmanullah Gurbaz replaces James Vince, George Linde replaces Adam Lyth, Mahmudullah Riyad replaces Chris Lynn and Obed McCoy replaces Carlos Brathwaite

Peshawar Zalmi: Fabian Allen replaces Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, , Fidel Edwards replaces Saqib Mahmood and Rovman Powell replaces Liam Livingstone

Quetta Gladiators: Tom Banton replaced by Andre Russell.