Royal Challengers Bangalore appoint Faf du Plessis as new captain

Former South Africa captain Faf du Plessis has been named new captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore for the upcoming of the Indian Premier League. On 12th March, the franchise made a formal announcement as Faf du Plessis will replace Virat Kohli, who relinquished the captaincy post after conclusion of last year’s Indian Premier League.

Faf du Plessis is set to become the seventh player to captain Royal Challengers Bangalore in the history of Indian Premier League. Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, Kevin Pietersen, Daniel Vettori, Shane Watson and Virat Kohli have previously captained the franchise in IPL.

Virat Kohli has captained the RCB in most number of matches in the Indian Premier League. In 140 matches, Kohli-led unit managed to win 64 matches and lost 69 matches. Three matches have ended in a tie and four matches were abandoned.

After leading South Africa in all three formats and World XI in international cricket, Faf du Plessis will be looking to do well in his first captaincy role in the IPL. Previously, Du Plessis has captained franchises from various T20 Leagues like Paarl Rocks, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, St Lucia Kings and Comilla Victorians. In 79 T20 matches,  Du Plessis has managed to win 43 matches, suffered 34 losses with a winning percentage of 55.76. One match has ended in a tie.

In 2011 IPL Auction event, Du Plessis was signed by Chennai Super League. In 2012, Faf du Plessis made his IPL debut for CSK. He played for CSK from 2012 to 2015. He was signed by Rising Supergiants for 2016 and 2017 editions of Indian Premier League.

In 2018, Du Plessis was signed by Chennai Super Kings. He was part of the team that won two IPL trophies. After a tough battle between CSK and RCB, Du Plessis was signed by RCB for INR 7 crore.

Faf du Plessis has played 100 IPL matches, in which he has accumulated 2,935 runs at an average of 34.94 with 22 half-centuries. Last year, du Plessis scored 633 runs and was instrumental in helping Chennai Super Kings lift their fourth IPL trophy.

Royal Challengers Bangalore will kick-start their Indian Premier League campaign when they take on Punjab Kings at the DY Patil stadium in Mumbai on 27th March.