Ross Taylor dropped as New Zealand announce T20I squad for Pakistan series

New Zealand have announced their 18-member squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Pakistan. Experienced batsman Ross Taylor has been dropped from the T20I squad for the home series, while pacer Lockie Ferguson will miss the series due to a stress fracture.

Pacer Hamish Bennett is another notable absentee from the T20I squad after suffering from abdominal tear during a first-class game.

Captain Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Tim Southee and Kylie Jamieson will miss the opening game of the T20I series. The players will be given adequate after their conclusion of the two-match Test series against West Indies. The players have been named in the T20I squad for the second and third game of the T20I series that will be played at Hamilton on 20th December and Napier on 22th December.

For the T20I series, New Zealand have included Leg-spinner Todd Astle and pacer Blair Tickner, while bowling all-rounder Jacob Duffy has earned his maiden call-up to the squad.

Mark Chapman, Doug Bracewell and Blair Tickner have been named in the T20I squad for the opening game of the T20I series. Left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner will lead the side for the T20I series opener to be played at Eden Park in Auckland on 18th December.

Glenn Phillips and Devon Conway, who showed excellent form with the bat for New Zealand in the previous T20I series against the West Indies, have retained their place in the T20I squad.

New Zealand Squad for 1st T20I: Mitchell Santner (captain), Martin Guptill, Tim Seifert(wk), Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Ish Sodhi, Scott Kuggeleijn, Doug Bracewell, Todd Astle, Blair Tickner, Devon Conway, Jacob Duff, Mark Chapman.

New Zealand Squad for 2nd and 3rd T20Is: Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Tim Seifert (wk), Devon Conway, Todd Astle, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Kylie Jamieson.