Quinton De Kock named South Africa limited-overs captain for England series

Wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock has been named new captain of South Africa one-day side for the upcoming three-match series against England. Quinton De Kock will replace Faf du Plessis as new-captain for South Africa in white-ball cricket. His first assignment will see South Africa taken on World Champions England in three-match series, starting from 4th February.

Faf Du Plessis, who has been consistent performer in limited-overs cricket last season, has not been selected for England series. Former Captain Faf Du Plessis led South Africa in 39 one-day game, with South Africa winning 28 matches. Du Plessis’ leadership has been under the spotlight after South Africa have lost seven Test matches out of eight played.

Quinton de Kock richly deserves his promotion as leader of the one-day side. He has accumulated 4907 runs at an average of 45.01. He previously has captained South Africa in two matches.

Five Uncapped players- Kyle Verreynne, Janneman Malan, Bjorn Fortuin, Sisanda Magala and Lutho Sipamla have earned their maiden call-ups to the limited-overs squad. Magala and Sipamla have done consistently well for the franchises in the List A competition.

Janneman Malan has done exceedingly well for Cape Cobras in the List A competition. In 44 List A games, Janneman has accumulated 1813 runs at an average of 45.32 with four centuries to his name. To add to that, he has also scored ten half-centuries in white-ball cricket. Left-arm orthodox spinner Bjorn Fortuin has been leading spinner in white-ball cricket and has claimed 55 wickets at an average of 30.98 in List A competitions.

Kyle Verreynne is another promising wicket-keeper batsman, who has shown tremendous potential with the bat in a short span of time. In 29 List A matches, Verreynne has accumulated 746 runs at an average of 50.72 with three centuries to his name.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) Independent Selector Linda Zondi said that the ODI squad has been picked in order to prepare for the next World Cup that will be played in 2023. All the players have been picked on merit. Due to their excellent performances, the likes of Sipamla, Verreynne and Malan richly deserve their call-ups to the national side.

South Africa ODI squad for England series: Quinton de Kock (captain), Beuran Hendricks, Janneman Malan, Rassie van der Dussen, Lungi Ngidi, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Jon Jon Smuts, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lutho Sipamla, Temba Bavuma, Tabraiz Shamsi, Sisanda Magala, Bjorn Fortuin, Kyle Verreynne.