Pakistan announce Test squad for the first two Tests against New Zealand

Pakistan have named their 15-man squad for the first two games of New Zealand Test series that will be played in the UAE. Opener Fakhar Zaman and Leg-spinner Shadab Khan have been rested due to various reasons. Two Uncapped players in Shaheen Shah Afridi and Saad Ali have earned their maiden call-ups to the Test squad.

Afridi has certainly shown excellent form with the ball during the one-day series played against New Zealand. He also bowled probing spells with the new-ball and provided early breakthroughs for Pakistan. Saad Ali has done well in domestic circuit and also scored 144 while playing for Pakistan A side against New Zealand A side in the UAE.

Left-arm quick Mohammad Amir has not been included in the Test squad while Wahab Riaz has been axed due to his poor outing in the first Test against Australia in Dubai. The opening Test of three-match series will begin from 16th November in Abu Dhabi. The second game will be played at Dubai International Cricket Stadium from 24th November. The third and final game of the series will again be played at Abu Dhabi from 3rd December.

Pakistan’s Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq spoke to the media and said that the side has been selected according to conditions in the UAE. Shadab Khan and Fakhar Zaman have been advised to take a break and have been rested for this three-match Test series. Zaman really played in his debut game against Australia at Abu Dhabi.

Inzamam said that Shaheen Afridi has earned his maiden call-up to the Test squad due to his impressive performances in the three-match one-day series against New Zealand.

Pakistan Test Squad for first 2 Tests: Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Mohammad Abbas, Hassan Ali,  Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Saad Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Imam-ul-Haq, Azhar Ali,  Yasir Shah, Bilal Asif, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Faheem Ashraf, Mir Hamza.