Pace bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar completed 100 wickets in limited-overs cricket

India pace bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar completed 100 wickets in one-day internationals during the opening game of the one-day series played in Sydney. He dismissed Australian Skipper Aaron Finch to achieve the milestone. He produced a probing spell for India with the new-ball and became the 19th bowler from India to take 100 wickets in one-day internationals. It took 96 matches to achieve this feat.

In the T20 format, he has impressive numbers to his name with 36 wickets in 37 matches at an average of 25.83.

Since July 2017, Bhuvneshwar Kumar has picked up 31 wickets in 29 matches at an average of 39.96. In recent times, left-arm Chinaman Kuldeep Yadav has been India’s premier bowler in one-day cricket and has topped the bowling charts with 61 wickets in 30 games at an average of 20.93. Yadav has formed a lethal combination with leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal to see India win their maiden one-day series in South Africa. Pace bowler Jaspreet Bumrah has been excellent and picked up 52 wickets in 28 matches at an economy rate of 4.15.

Leg-spinner Anil Kumble is leading wicket-taker for India in the one-day internationals. He has taken 334 wickets in 268 matches in a career spanning more than 15 years. Pace bowler Javagal Srinath is second on the all-time list with 315 wickets in 229 games. Left-arm spinner Ravendra Jadeja is the most active bowler on the list with 169 wickets in 144 games.

Pace bowler Mohammad Shami also needs six wickets to complete 100 wickets in limited-overs cricket. Currently, he has taken 94 wickets in 52 games. The quickest bowler to take 100 wickets was Irfan Pathan, who completed the milestone in just 59 matches. Shami will be looking to do well and complete this milestone in the ongoing three-match one-day series against Australia.

Most wickets for India in One-Day Internationals

Player Matches Wickets BBI
Anil Kumble 269 334 6/12
Javagal Srinath 229 315 5/23
Ajit Agarkar 191 288 6/42
Zaheer Khan 194 269 5/42
Harbhajan Singh 234 265 5/31
Kapil Dev 225 253 5/43
Venkatesh Prasad 161 196 5/27
Irfan Pathan 120 173 5/27
Ravindra Jadeja 144 169 5/36
Manoj Prabhakar 130 157 5/33
Ashish Nehra 117 155 6/23
Sachin Tendulkar 463 154 5/32
Ravichandran Ashwin 111 150 4/25
Ravi Shastri 150 129 5/15