Opener Alex Hales re-signs for Sydney Thunder for coming BBL season

Former England opener Alex Hales has re-signed for Sydney Thunder for the 11th edition of Big Bash League competition. Earlier this year, Trevor Bayliss has named as head coach of Sydney Thunder for the next three years of BBL.

After being overlooked by English selectors, Alex Hales has consistently done well in T20 competitions around the world. After failing a drug test before 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup played in England, the selection committee has made it clear that Hales is no longer required in the national setup.

Earlier this summer, England selectors faced a huge problem as original squad had contracted covid-19. An entirely new-look squad was announced for the one-day series against Pakistan. Despite showing decent form in Vitality T20 Blast competition, Alex Hales was not picked by English selectors for the one-day series against Pakistan.

Opener Alex Hales showed excellent form with the bat for Sydney Thunder in the previous two editions of BBL. In 2020-21 season, Alex Hales topped the batting charts in the competition. In 15 matches played, Hales accumulated 543 runs at an average of 38.78 with one century and three half-centuries to his name.

In 2021 BBL, Alex Hales continued his impressive form for Sydney Thunder. In 15 matches, Alex Hales once again finished the competition as the leading run-scorer with 543 runs at an average of 38.78, which includes one century and three half-centuries.

England opener Alex Hales openly praised the dressing room culture and environment of Sydney Thunder. He said that he has enjoyed playing for Sydney Thunder for the past two years.

With Callum Ferguson departure from the franchise, Usman Khuwaja is expected to lead the side for the coming season. The franchise might sign overseas players before the competition gets underway in December.

All the overseas players will go through strict two-week quarantine period after they arrive in Australia.

Sydney Thunder squad: Usman Khuwaja, Alex Hales, Jonathan Cook, Chris Green, Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Brendan Doggett, Ollie Davies, Matthew Gilkes, Baxter Holt, Daniel Sams, Ben Cutting, Tanveer Sangha and Chris Tremain.