Nuwan Pradeep, Thisara Perera return to Sri Lanka squad for T20I series

The home side is currently dominating the proceedings in the one-day series against West Indies. The selectors have decided to bring back experienced players for the three-match T20I series that starts from 4th March. Nuwan Pradeep, Thisara Perera and Shehan Jayasuriya have made their comeback into the T20 squad for the upcoming two-match series against West Indies.

All-rounder Thisara Perera has done a reasonable job for the side in the ongoing one-day series against West Indies. The selection committee has picked Perera due to the balance he adds to the side with bat and ball.

Nuwan Pradeep has put in splendid performances for the side with the new-ball. In the absence of Lasith Malinga and Suranga Lakmal, Pradeep has been premier bowler for the side in white-ball cricket and will be looking to do well in his three-match T20I series.

Surprisingly, Kasun Rajitha, Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Oshada Fernando have been left out of the 15-man squad. Despite delivering decent performances in the T20 format, Bhanuka Rajapaksa could retain his place in the T20 squad.

Previously not picked for India series, all-rounder Thisara Perera has done well in the T20 Leagues being played around the world. He will be looking to make key contributions with bat and ball in this two-match T20i series. Nuwan Pradeep last made his appearance in the format in Australia last year.

Shehan Jayasuriya also was part of Sri Lanka’s squad that toured Australia in November last year. Due to back injury, opener Danushka Gunathilaka has been ruled out of the T20I series.

Both the T20Is will be played at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, on March 4 and 6 respectively

Sri Lanka squad: Lasith Malinga (captain), Niroshan Dickwella (vice-captain , wk), , Akila Dhananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha, Kusal Mendis, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera, Wanindu Hasaranga, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Lahiru Kumara, Lahiru Madushanka.