New Zealand announce 15-man squad for Sri Lanka series

New Zealand have named their 13-man squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against Sri Lanka that will begin from 15th December in Wellington. Off-spinner Ajaz Patel has retained his place in the Test squad after his impressive performances for New Zealand in the UAE. Will Somerville and Ish Sodhi have not found a place in the Test squad and will take part in the Plunkett Shield for their respective sides.

Uncapped batsman Will Young has been included in the squad after his string of good performances at the domestic level. He also did well for New Zealand A side that toured the UAE to take on Pakistan A side. Wicket-keeper batsman Tom Blundell also has been overlooked for the series. Young has played 66 first class games and is averaging 41.38 with the bat. He recently smashed two centuries against India A side while playing for New Zealand A.

New Zealand chief selector, Gavin Larsen stated that the side will be boosted by their win in the UAE and will be keen to continue their winning momentum in this summer. Larsen said that he was pleased that spinner Ajaz Patel was the standout bowler for New Zealand on the UAE tour and produced a match winning effort in the first Test.

Gavin Larsen also that appreciated the efforts of Will Somerville, who did exceedingly well in the third and final game of the series against Pakistan in Abu Dhabi. Despite Somerville’s inclusion, Larsen stated the spinner will surely get an opportunity when New Zealand make their next trip to the subcontinent.  The opening game of the series will be played at revamped Basin Reserve Cricket Stadium in Wellington from 15th December.

New Zealand’s Test squad: Kane Williamson (captain), BJ Watling (wk), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Neil Wagner, Will Young, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Jeet Raval, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.