Mosaddek Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain make comeback as Bangladesh announce squad for New Zealand tour

Bangladesh have announced their twenty-member squad for the upcoming tour of New Zealand. Pacer Al-Amin Hossain, all-rounder Mosaddek Hossain, Nasum Ahmed and Mohammad Naim have been named in the Bangladesh squad for New Zealand series.

After being granted paternity leave by Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), Former captain and all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will miss the tour of New Zealand. Off-spinner Taijul Islam has been overlooked for New Zealand tour after BCB Chief Selector Minhajul Abedin stated that he must become the best bowler for Bangladesh in the five-day format.

The inclusion of Nasum Ahmed is to have another spinner for the white-ball cricket. Bowling all-rounder, Mosaddek Hossain, has made his comeback into the Bangladesh squad for this series. The 25-year old made his final appearance for Bangladesh in a T20I played against India in November 2019.

After making his debut for Bangladesh two years ago, Mohammad Naim has been included in Bangladesh for New Zealand tour. Pacer Al-Amin Hossain will be looking for opportunities to showcase his skills after last playing for Bangladesh in March 2020.

Aminul Islam, who was previously selected for the T20I series against Zimbabwe in 2020, has been dropped from the side after suffering from illness.

Following changes in the schedule due to ongoing covid-19 Pandemic, Bangladesh will fly to New Zealand on 24th February. The 20-man squad will go through necessary quarantine protocols before playing the three-match series, starting from 20th March in Dunedin. The second and third matches will be played at Christchurch and Wellington respectively. The conclusion of ODI series will see New Zealand lock horns with Bangladesh in the three-match T20I series. The matches will be played on 28th March, 29th March and 1st April at Hamilton, Napier and Auckland respectively.

Bangladesh Squad for New Zealand tour : Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Nasum Ahmed, Mohammad Naim, Al-Amin Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mahedi Hasan, Mehidy Hasan, Taskin Ahmed.