India annouce ODI, T20 squads for Australia series

India have announced their 15-man squad for the upcoming one-day series against Australia. Middle-order batsman Dinesh Karthik has been dropped from the side for the coming series that begins in March. This will be India’s last one-day series before the upcoming Cricket World Cup 2019 that will be played in England in June.

Chief selector MSK Prasad clearly stated that Pant has been included in the squad in order to bring left-hander in the middle-order. He said that selectors want to try Pant for the couple of one-day games before making their final decision for the World Cup squad that will play in England.

Shubham Gill, Khaleel Ahmed, Ravendra Jadeja and Mohammed Siraj have been dropped from the side. The four players did feature for India in their recent tour to New Zealand. Pace bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been rested and will be available for third one-day game against Australia.

Mohammad Shami and Siddharth Kaul have managed to retain their place in the limited-overs squad following their good performances in New Zealand.

The biggest surprise is the exclusion of Dinesh Karthik, who has been consistent performer for the side in the middle-order. He also chipped in with crucial scores for India in Australia and New Zealand.

BCCI have also named their T20I squad for the upcoming series against Australia that begins from 24th February. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Kuldeep Yadav will not take part in the T20I series. Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammad Siraj and Shubham Gill have been dropped from the T20 squad. Dinesh Karthik has retained his place in the T20 squad. Lokesh Rahul and Umesh Yadav have earned their recall to the national side for the T20I series. Rookie leg-spinner Mayank Markande also earned his maiden call-up to the side for the series.

India’s ODI squad for Australia series: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni (wk), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav,  Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Jaspreet Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh Pant.

India’s squad for T20I series :Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit (vice-captain), Lokesh Rahul, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jaspreet Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Siddharth Kaul, Mayank Markande.