ICC Awards 2017: Australia’s Steven Smith named Test Cricketer of the Year

Australian captain Steven Smith was named ICC Test Cricketer of the Year in the recent concluded ICC Awards 2017. Smith has smashed six hundreds in 11 games at a staggering average of 76.7 in Test cricket.

Smith also led the way with the way by scoring over 600 runs in the recent concluded 2017-18 Ashes series played against England. He scored a big double century and helped his side win the series by 4-0 and regain the Urn. In the Ashes series, he scored 687 runs at an average of 137.4 and was often with Don Bradman who produced amazing feats with the bat for Australia in 1930s.

Smith won the award for a second time since taking home his first trophy in 2015. Since 2013, Australian players have ruled the roost as Michael Clarke, Mitchell Johnson and Steven Smith have won ICC Test Cricketer of the Year trophy. Smith won his first award in 2015 and this is fourth occasion that an Australia cricketer since 2013. Steven Smith scored 1,305 runs this year in Test cricket for the year 2017 but has not been able to replicate his imperious form in limited overs cricket.

Smith won the award for the second time after 2015 and this is the fourth time in last five occasions that an Australian cricketer won the award. Smith accepted the award and stated that it was huge privilege to be named Test Cricketer of the Year. He said he is very humbled to win such prestigious trophy and it turned out to be great for him as he led Australia to win the Ashes series against England. Smith scored bulk of runs for the side in the series followed by David Warner and Shaun Marsh.

Smith was nominated alongside Virat Kohli, James Anderson, Kagiso Rabada, Kane Williamson and Nathan Lyon.