Finn Allen, Will Young get T20I call-ups for Bangladesh series

Trent Boult, Kane Williamson, Mitchell Santner, James Neesham, Tim Seifert and Kyle Jamieson have been rested for the T20I series against Bangladesh. The players will have a chance to take adequate rest before their participation in the Indian Premier League.

Uncapped opener Finn Allen and Will Young have been rewarded for their excellent performances in the domestic competition. The duo have been named in 13-member squad for the upcoming series against Bangladesh.

On the other hand, Lockie Ferguson and Adam Milne have made their comeback to the T20I squad after fully recovering from injuries.

In the Super Smash competition, Finn Allen played exceedingly well for Wellington and topped the batting charts in the competition with 512 runs at a strike rate of 193.93. He also smashed six half-centuries for Wellington in the competition. Allen was instrumental in helping Wellington clinch the Super Smash trophy.

On the other hand, Will Young has made his debut for New Zealand in the Test and ODI formats. In seven innings for Central Districts, Will Young has accumulated 297 runs at an average of 42.42 with one century and two half-centuries

New Zealand Chief Selector, Gavin Larsen said that Finn Allen richly deserves his call-up to the national side for the T20I series.  He further stated that Allen was nothing short of sensational for Wellington Firebirds in this year’s Super Smash competition.

Larsen stated that the return of pacers Lockie Ferguson and Adam Milne will bolster the pace bowling resources for New Zealand for this three-match T20I series.

Adam Milne has been plagued with a lot of injuries and made his last appearance for New Zealand in November 2018. He was signed by Sydney Thunder for the Big Bash League competition. In 12 matches played for Thunder, Milne claimed five wickets at an economy rate of 7.56.

On the other hand, Lockie Ferguson has ruled out of home season due to a back injury. His appearance came for New Zealand in the T20I series played against West Indies.

Finn Allen, Adam Milne and Lockie Ferguson have signed for various franchises in the Indian Premier League. The trio will fly to India to participate in the competition after the conclusion of the T20I series against Bangladesh. In absence of Kane Williamson, pacer Tim Southee will lead the side for the T20I series.

New Zealand T20I Squad for Bangladesh series : Tim Southee (captain), Martin Guptill, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway (wk), Will Young, Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Hamish Bennett, Adam Milne.