England announced Test squad for the first two matches against India.

After doing exceedingly well in the English County Championship, opener Haseeb Hameed has been recalled into England’s Test squad for the first two matches against India. The selectors have announced 17-member squad that includes wicket-keeper Ben Stokes, all-rounders Sam Curran and Ben Stokes.

After going thorough investigation over his racist tweet, Ollie Robinson will make his comeback to the Test side after doing well in his debut series against New Zealand earlier this summer. Pacer Jofra Archer and all-rounder Chris Woakes have not fully recovered from injuries and will remain unavailable for the first two Tests against India.

Jofra Archer has been suffering from persistent elbow injury so it was appropriate to carry on his rehabilitation and get fit for the upcoming T20 World Cup. Chris Woakes also suffered from a bruised heel and will be expected to be fit and available for the third Test.

In 2016 against India, Haseeb Hameed made his last Test appearance for England. There is no doubt that Hameed has shown excellent for Lancashire in the English County Championship. In nine matches played this season, Hameed has accumulated 642 runs at an average of 45.85 with two centuries and four half-centuries to his name. He was also named as a reserve player for England’s two-match series against New Zealand.

England Head Coach Chris Silverwood said that the return of experienced players like Ben Stokes, Sam Curran and Jos Buttler will give confidence to the side ahead of the big series against India. He said that Ollie Robinson has been retained after picking up seven wickets in his debut Test match against New Zealand at Lords.

The selected players are currently taking place in the inaugural The Hundred competition before the squad assembles on 28th July at Loughborough. The series opener will be played at Trent Bridge in Nottingham from 4th till 8th August.

England’s Test Squad for the first two matches: Joe Root (captain), Ben Stokes, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow, Mark Wood, Sam Curran, Ollie Pope, Dom Bess, Rory Burns, Haseeb Hameed, Ollie Robinson, Dominic Sibley, Zak Crawley, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Robinson.