England and Wales Cricket Board announce schedule for three-match series against West Indies

The Ageas Bowl in Southampton is set to host the opening Test of the series between England and West Indies. The remaining two matches will be played at Old Trafford in Manchester. England and Wales Cricket Board will certainly send the schedule in order to get approval of UK government. The opening game of the series will be played from 8th to 12th July in Southampton. All three matches will be played behind closed doors.

Edgbaston Cricket Ground has been included as a contingency venue and will be used for players going through practice and training. West Indies will arrive in the UK on 9th June and will go through 14-day quarantine period before the start of the series.

Then the visitors will move to Old Trafford and will train at the ground for the next three weeks. ECB made the decision on the selection of venues on the following grounds- bio-secure, medical screening and testing, facilities that enable social distancing and cricket operations to ensure a bio-secure environment.

ECB Director of Events, Steve Elworthy, said that the main goal was to produce a bio-secure environment for all stakeholders involved in the game such as players, match officials, operational staff, venue staff, broadcasters and media personnel. He further stated that we are in constant communication with the government and our medical teams have made necessary arrangements before the tour can receive clearance from UK government.

Elworthy also appreciated the fact that Cricket West Indies have agreed to the tour the country during the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. He said that the cricket board is hopeful that the competitive cricket can resume in the coming few weeks.

Previously, the three-match Test series was scheduled to tour on 4th June but the ECB had to change plans due to Covid-19 pandemic. England and Wales Cricket Board stated the schedule for the Test series have been proposed as following.

Proposed Tour Schedule for England vs West Indies 2020 Test Series

First Test: July 8-12, Ageas Bowl Southampton

Second Test: July 16-20, Old Trafford Manchester

Third Test: July 24-28, Old Trafford Manchester