Caribbean Premier League to begin on August 28, will be staged in St. Kitts and Nevis

The ninth edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) will slated to begin from 28th August in St Kitts and Nevis. All thirty-three matches of the 2021 CPL will be played  at Warner Park in Basseterre in St Kitts and Nevis.

The competition will be played from 28th August till 19th September after organization committee has issued a formal press release. The T20 League will be organized in a bio-secure environment in St. Kitts and Nevis.

There is no doubt that a lot of world class players have participated in Caribbean Premier League over the years. It is one of the most followed T20 Leagues in the world with a global viewership at around 530 million in 2020. Last year, there was approximately 70% increase in viewership in comparison to 2019 edition of the competition.

Caribbean Premier League, Chief Operating Officer, Peter Russell said that is exciting to finalize a formal window for the ninth edition of the competition. He further expressed his gratitude and acknowledged the support and assurance given by St. Kitts and Nevis government to staging this year’s CPL.

Russell also appreciated the cooperation shown by Cricket West Indies in creating this window for Caribbean Premier League. He said that he making all efforts to make sure that we host a successful ninth edition of Caribbean Premier League.

Last year, Trinbago Knight Riders registered a comprehensive win over St. Lucia Zouks in the finals of 2020 Caribbean Premier League. With this result, Trinbago Knight Riders managed to clinch the CPL for a record fourth time.

After completing the series against Australia and Pakistan, West Indies players are expected to participate in the Caribbean Premier League and play for their respective franchises. West Indies is expected to play 4 Tests, 10 T20Is and 3 ODIs in a jam-packed summer that will play lock horns with quality teams like South Africa, Australia and Pakistan.