Brendan Taylor, Craig Ervine return to Zimbabwe squad for T20I series against Pakistan

Zimbabwe Cricket Board have announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against Pakistan. Pacer Tanaka Chivanga, batsman Tadiwanashe Marumani and spinner Tapiwa Mufudza earned their maiden call-ups to the T20I squad for the three-match series.

Tadiwanashe Marumani richly deserved his call-up after producing four half-centuries in the five matches played in the domestic T20 tournament. The home side have bolstered the batting resources for this series by bringing in wicket-keeper Brendan Taylor and Craig Ervine into the T20I squad.

After a lengthy layoff, Craig Ervine and Brendan Taylor will be looking to make an impact with the bat for Zimbabwe in the upcoming three-match T20I series. The batting duo was not selected for Zimbabwe’s tour to UAE due to fitness issues.

Wicket-keeper batsman Brendan Taylor will bring a lot of experience to the batting lineup. He has played 42 T20I matches for Zimbabwe, in which he has accumulated 834 runs with five half-centuries to his name.

Bowling all-rounder Sikandar Raza wasn’t considered for selection for this home series due to an upper-arm injury.

Brandon Mavuta, Tarisai Musakanda, Richmond Mutumbami, Faraz Akram and Milton Shumba have been dropped from the T20I squad. Ainsley Ndlovu, Bradley Evans and Tarisai Musakanda are three reserve players picked for the T20I series in case of any injuries to players picked in the final squad.

The T20I series will be played behind closed doors due to covid-19 and is slated to begin from 21at April at Harare Sports Club. Sean Williams will lead the side for the T20I and ODI series against Pakistan. On the other hand, Pakistan has arrived in the country as they look to prepare for the upcoming three-match T20I series.

Zimbabwe’s T20I squad for Pakistan series: Sean Williams (captain), Brendan Taylor, Craig Ervine, Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva, Donald Tiripano, Wesley Madhevere, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Wellington Masakadza, Luke Jongwe, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Tanaka Chivanga and Tapiwa Mufudza.