Bangladesh named their 21-member preliminary Test squad for Sri Lanka series

Bangladesh Cricket Board have named their 21-man preliminary squad for the upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka. Uncapped pacers Shoriful Islam, Mukidul Islam and Shahidul Islam have been named in the Bangladesh’s Test squad. On the other hand, Khaled Ahmed, Nurul Hasan and Shuvagata Hom make their return to the Test squad for Sri Lanka series.

Soumya Sarkar and Hasan Mahmud were not picked for the Test series against Sri Lanka due to various reasons. Bangladesh’s premier all-rounder, Shakib Al Hasan and pacer Mustafizur Rahman are also missing from the squad. The duo is currently playing for their respective franchises in the Indian Premier League. Both players were given formal consent by Bangladesh Cricket Board to take part in the cash-rich league.

Bangladesh Cricket Board has included more bowlers for the series for practice sessions. The visitors will play intra-squad practice game before the start of the Two-match Test series.

Bangladesh Chief Selector, Minhajul Abedin said that the selectors have decided to pick a bigger pool of players for the upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka. The players who failed to find a place in the squad will not fly to Sri Lanka.

The visitors are schedule to play a practice game at CMC in Katunayake from 17th to 18th April. The opening game of the two-match Test series will be played from 21st till 25th April, while the second and final game will be played from 29th April. Both the games will be played at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

Initially scheduled to be played last year in July, the series was cancelled due to covid-19 pandemic. The visitors did go through practice sessions conducted at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium. Premier players like Mominul Haque, Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim participated in the session conducted at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Bangladesh Test squad for Sri Lanka series: Mominul Haque (captain), Liton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Khaled Ahmed, Yasir Ali, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Khan, Shadman Islam, Abu Jayed, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Mukidul Islam, Shahidul Islam, Shuvagata Hom, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Mohammad Hasan.