Bangladesh named Test squad for the upcoming series against West Indies

Bangladesh Cricket Board have named their Test squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against West Indies. Opener Tamim Iqbal makes a return to the side after recovering from injury. The opening game of the series will be played in Chittagong from 22nd November. The second and final game will begin from 30th November in Dhaka.

Shakib Al Hasan will lead Bangladesh for the two-match Test series. All-rounder was out of action after aggravating his figure injury during Asia Cup played in the UAE. Shakib is an important player for the side across all three formats.

Bangladesh will certainly be boosted by the returns of Shakib and Tamim for the home series. It will be interesting to whether Tamim will play the first game as he sustained an injury during the practice session.

Liton Das, Abu Jayed and Shafiul Islam have been dropped from the Test squad. Wicket-keeper batsman Liton did not do much with the bat in the two-match series against Zimbabwe. Abu Jayed also failed to make an impact with the ball in the only game he played against Zimbabwe.

Shafiul Islam will not be pleased as he did not play the two games against Zimbabwe. Nazmul Hasan was also not included in the squad.

Soumya Sarkar has earned his comeback to the side after a string of good performances in the domestic circuit. Sarkar last played for Bangladesh in 2017 and will be keen to make an impression with the bat in the upcoming series against West Indies.

Uncapped spinner Naeem Hasan has been picked due to his good performances in the domestic competition. Mohammad Mithun and Imrul Kayes have retained his place in the Test squad.

Bangladesh’s Test Squad: Shakib Al Hasan, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mominul Haque, Mohammad Mithun, Mehidy Hasan Miraaz, Soumya Sarkar, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Naeem Hasan, Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah, Syed Khaled Ahmed.