Bangladesh announce Test squad for Zimbabwe series

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) have announced 17-man squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against Zimbabwe. The hosts have picked four uncapped players in the Test squad. Khaled Ahmed, Ariful Haque, Mohammad Mithun, and Nazmul Islam have earned their maiden call-ups for the upcoming home series against Zimbabwe.

Mahmudullah will lead Bangladesh for the two-match series in the absence of all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who has been sidelined due to a finger injury. Left-arm pacer Mustafizur did not play in the two-match Test series against West Indies played earlier this year.

Khaled Ahmed has done exceedingly well at the domestic level and picked up 48 wickets in 20 first-class games. He also performed well against Ireland A side. Ariful Haque also has been in good form and earned his call-up to the Test side.

Nazmul Islam has been rewarded for his string of good performances for Bangladesh in the shorter formats of the game. The 27-year old has been included in the Test squad for home series against Zimbabwe. Rubel Hossain and Nurul Hasan have been dropped from the side after not doing well in the previous two-match series played against West Indies earlier this year.

It will certainly be a test for the home side as they will be missing their big players like Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan from the squad for the home series against Zimbabwe. The opening game of the two-match series will be played Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on 3rd November. Zimbabwe suffered a 3-0 whitewash at the hand of Bangladesh when the two sides played a Test series in Bangladesh in 2014.

Mahmudullah will be focused to make sure Bangladesh can get off to good start in the two-match series. On the other hand, Zimbabwe will aim for an upset since Bangladesh are missing their key players for this two-match series.

Bangladesh Test squad: Mahmudullah (captain), Abu Jayed, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Ariful Haque, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Mominul Haque, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Khaled Ahmed, Nazmul Islam