Bangladesh announce ODI Squad for upcoming tri-series 2018

Bangladesh have done well in the tri-nation series featuring Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka. The hosts are currently top of the table and managed to beat both the sides till now. The side has made crucial changes to their batting lineup with Shakib Al Hasan being promoted up the order. The ploy has worked for Bangladesh as they pulled off comfortable victories in the competition. Bangladesh have suffered a setback as opener Imrul Kayes is out of the competition due to a finger injury.

Shakib has replaced injured Kayes at no.3 in the batting order and has done well for the side. Kayes has struggled with injuries in the past as he missed the one-off game against India last year. The left-handed batsman has been ruled out of the tri-nation series. He played only five one-day games with a half-century to his name. Kayes has not done well in longer format as he averages 17.18 in 6 Test matches.

The team management stated that Kayes must take part in the upcoming Bangladesh Cricket League. It is four-day competition so that management felt that Kayes will gain adequate practice and time for the upcoming two-match series against Sri Lanka. The tri-nation series will end on 27th January as the home series against Sri Lanka is set to commence from 31st Jan. Bangladesh is set to play two-T20 games against Sri Lanka after the conclusion of two-match Test series.

In recent times, Bangladesh has done well against Sri Lanka across all three formats. The Tigers did manage to draw series in Sri Lanka and also played well in the ODI and T20 series.

Bangladesh ODI Squad for Tri-nation series: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Tamim Iqbal, Mehdi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mohammad Mithun, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Abul Hasan, Mahmudullah, Anamul Haque, Sunzamul Islam.