Bancroft out, Neser in as Australia announce Test squad for New Zealand series

After completing a clean sweep over Pakistan, Australia have announced their 14-member squad for the upcoming three-match series against New Zealand. Opening batsman Cameron Bancroft has been dropped from the side.

James Pattinson and Michael Neser have been included reserve pace options for the three-match series. Bancroft might be included as a cover in case of injury to any of the top batsmen. Australia’s chairman of selectors, Trevor Hohns, said that the side’s performance was dominant one against Australia in all three aspects of the game.

Joe Burns, Marnus Labuschagne and David Warner have scored runs for the side in the two-match series against Pakistan. Labuschagne has topped the batting charts for Australia this season with close to 900 runs to his name. David Warner also found form with the bat and amassed 489 runs in the two-match series against Pakistan.

Travis Head, Matthew Wade and wicket-keeper Tim Paine have delivered crucial scores for the side in Test cricket this year. Captain Tim Paine will be hoping that side can continue their excellent form in this home season. Michael Neser also played for Queensland in the Sheffield Shield game played at Sydney Cricket Ground. Pacer James Pattinson also bowled well for Victoria last week. Pattinson has so far claimed 14 wickets in 4 matches at an average of 28.64.

Australia is all set to the opening game of the three-match series at Perth Stadium from 12th December. The opening game will be a pink-ball Test. The second game of the series (Boxing Day Test) will be played at Melbourne Cricket Ground from 26th December. The third and final game of the series will be played from 3rd January from Sydney Cricket Ground.

Squad: Tim Paine (captain), Steven Smith, , David Warner, Joe Burns, Pat Cummins (vice-captain), Josh Hazelwood, Travis Head, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson