Australia announces T20I, Test squads for New Zealand and South Africa tour

Wicket-keeper batsman Alex Carey has been named in the Test squad for the upcoming tour of South Africa. Surprisingly, Matthew Wade has been dropped from the Test squad for the upcoming series. Cricket Australia have announced 19-member squad for the three-match Test series against South Africa.

However, Matthew Wade has been included in Australia T20I squad for the upcoming tour of New Zealand. It will be national side will be touring two Southern Hemisphere countries at the same time.

Australia have demanded more strict bio-security arrangements for South Africa series. Head Coach Justin Langer will travel with Test squad to South Africa, while Andrew McDonald will accompany T20I squad to New Zealand.

The selectors have included five uncapped players in Alex Carey, Michael Neser, Mitchell Swepson, Sean Abbott and Mark Steketee for the tour of South Africa.

Matthew Wade failed to produce big scores in the Border Gavaskar Trophy played against India this home summer. Left-hander managed to score 173 runs in eight innings at an average of 21.62.

Marcus Harris and Will Pucovski have managed to retain their place in the Test squad as the selectors feel that conditions in South Africa will suit their batting style. Moises Henriques have been included as an extra all-rounder in case any player gets injured during the tour.

Australia’s Test squad for South Africa tour: Tim Paine (captain), Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, David Warner, Will Pucovski, Marnus Labuschagne, Marcus Harris, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Alex Carey, Moises Henriques, Sean Abbott, Michael Neser, Mitchell Swepson, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Mark Steketee, James Pattinson.

Pacer Jhye Richardson made his last appearance in February 2019 in a T20 game for Australia. The 24-year old has produced excellent form for Perth Scorchers in the ongoing Big Bash League and claimed 27 wickets in 14 matches played in the competition. The selection committee has included Tanveer Sangha, who has shown excellent form for Sydney Thunder and claimed 21 wickets in 14 matches.

Australia’s T20I squad for New Zealand tour – Aaron Finch (captain), Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Adam Zampa, Andrew Tye, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Kane Richardson, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Jason Behrendorff, Ashton Agar, Ben McDermott, Daniel Sams, Riley Meredith, Tanveer Sangha, Josh Phillipe.