Afghanistan and Ireland granted full-member status by International Cricket Council

International Cricket Council (ICC) went through a lot of discussions to officially grant full membership to countries like Ireland and Afghanistan. The inclusion of Ireland and Afghanistan means that 12 Test playing nations will form a part of cricket’s governing body. ICC confirmed the news after a meeting held in London past week. Both Ireland and Afghanistan are now full members and will now play Test match cricket in the future.

Ireland and Afghanistan have joined Bangladesh, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, West Indies and others as full playing members. Irish player Gary Wilson said that Ireland team has played well over a given period of time and has made rapid strides in the game since making their first appearance in 2007 Cricket World Cup in the Caribbean. He thanked management and board officials for investing in the players and improving the infrastructures for players to go there and perform their best in the field.