AB de Villiers completes 4000 runs in the Indian Premier League.

Former South African batsman AB De Villiers added another milestone to his name by becoming the tenth batsman to complete 4000 runs in the history of Indian Premier League.

He also became the third overseas player to complete the milestone besides Sunrisers Hyderabad’s David Warner and Kings XI Punjab’s Chris Gayle. De Villiers managed to achieve the feat during Royal Challengers Bangalore’s game against Mumbai Indians played at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium.

AB De Villiers has played for Royal Challengers Bangalore since the past eight years. He currently has scored 4032 runs in 143 games. He has been an important cog in the Royal Challengers Bangalore batting lineup besides Virat Kohli.

De Villiers certainly looked in imperious form against Mumbai Indians in their previous game and smashed unbeaten 70 off just 41 deliveries. Despite a splendid innings, he wasn’t able to get Royal Challengers Bangalore across the finishing line.

AB De Villiers has struck three centuries during his 12-year period playing in the Indian Premier League. Earlier, Chris Gayle became the quickest to complete 4000 runs in the Indian Premier League this season. Gayle smashed a splendid half-century against Rajasthan Royals to achieve the milestone.

De Villiers was signed by Delhi Daredevils and started his career in the Indian Premier League in 2008. He played three seasons for Daredevils before being signed by Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011.

Since then, he has certainly scored a lot of runs and delivered scintillating performances for Royal Challengers Bangalore. In 2016, he enjoyed his best run as a batsman and scored 687 runs at an average of 52.84.

Last year, AB De Villiers announced his retirement from international cricket with immediate effect. He clearly stated that he still wanted to play in the T20 Leagues across the globe.

De Villiers will be determined to make sure he can deliver with the bat to help Royal Challengers Bangalore lift their maiden crown in the Indian Premier League this year.